Dungarvan 10M

By | February 6, 2020

The 29th Annual John Treacy Dungarvan 10 mile race was held on Sunday February the 2nd. Just over 2,500 runners from all over Ireland, including a large contingent of Blackwater Triathlon Club athletes, gathered together to compete on this fast, mostly flat course on the roads around the historic town of Dungarvan. Conditions on the day were as good as could be hope for in early February. It was cold waiting around for the race to start, but once the starting gun sounded the athletes warmed up pretty quickly. The runners battled against a strong headwind for the first five and a half miles. They then had to negotiate the hilly part of the run, culminating with a tough climb around mile nine. Fortunately, it was mostly downhill from there and the runners were able make a strong finish cheered on by the huge crowds coming up to the finish line. As usual, the race was very well organised and featured timers at the mile markers calling out the times. There were runners of every level taking part on the day, from beginners to seasoned athletes.

Conor Bartley was the first BTC athlete home, finishing in a personal best time of 1:01:19, nearly 3 minutes faster than his 2019 time. Liam O’Connor also had a PB at the event, crossing the finish line in 1:03:37, followed closely by Dave Murphy in 1:04:31 and Adrian Collins in 1:08:44. Peter O’Brien was just 9 seconds behind Adrian, in 1:08:53, beating his 2019 time by nearly a minute and a half, while Dave Bartley finished in 1:10:16, also nearly a minute and a half quicker than the previous year. The first BTC lady home on the day was Lisa Crowley, finishing in an impressive 1:11:43, despite being under the weather the previous week. A lot of us would love to be able to run that kind of a time on a bad day! Martin Feeney was almost 8 minutes faster than his 2019 effort, finishing in 1:12:44. Dave Harte also cut 90 seconds off his 2019 race time, finishing in 1:13:09. Ashleigh Byrne O’Brien made an 11 second improvement on her 2019 race, finishing in 1:17:20, closely followed by Clem Leonard in 1:17:33 and Terry Broderick in 1:18:24. Eleanor Fennessy finished in 1:19:18 and Shane Fleming crossed the line in 1:23:23. Another personal best was achieved by Bernard Kiernan, who cut a minute per mile off his 2019 time, finishing in 1:24:14. Johnny Lynch came home in 1:26:07, followed by another pb from Kenneth Power, who cut two minutes off last year’s effort, finishing in 1:27:23. Amanda Lenihan rounded out the BTC contingent on the day, finishing in 1:37:29. A good day all round for our athletes. Congratulations to all our crew and to the organisers for once again running an excellent race.